Book Review: The Adventures of Taxi Dog by Debra and Sal Barracca

Maxi, a homeless mutt in New York City, has always fended for himself. Then one day a kind taxi driver named Jim offers him friendship, a home, and a place in the front seat! From that moment on, Maxi and Jim revel in the sights and sounds of the city, and share all sorts of wild adventures-from rushing two clowns and a chimp to the circus, to singing duets with an opera diva! These and other adventures are brilliantly depicted in Mark Buehner’s witty, detail-packed oil paintings.


My Review

I bought this book with a bunch of other books at an auction, and I’m so glad I did! I read it to my grandson the other day and we found the dog(s) in each picture.

The story about Maxi is sweet and told in rhymes, and the pictures by Mark Buehner are amazing. They’re detailed and full of vibrant colors and kept my 2-year-old grandson’s attention which is a major accomplishment. I predict that we’ll be reading it every weekend for a long time to come.

Book Review & Giveaway: Nurse Mommy by Kristyn Boland

Book Title:  Nurse Mommy by Kristyn Boland
Category:  Children’s Fiction (Ages 2-10),  38 pages
Genre:  Children’s Picture Book
Publisher:  Mascot Books
Release date:   June, 2021
Content Rating:  G for everyone.

Book Description:

What does Mommy do when she leaves for work? From giving medicine to using her stethoscope, Nurse Mommy’s job is important because she helps patients get better. But what about her family back home—does Nurse Mommy really have to go to work? Nurse Mommy helps kids understand what the nurse they love is doing when they go to work at night.

Order the Book:
Amazon ~ B&N ~ Mascot Books

My Review

I chose to read this book after receiving a free copy. All opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased.

The author of Nurse Mommy is a nurse, and after she had a child, she couldn’t find any children’s books that explained why she wasn’t home at night. So she wrote one herself! I don’t know how she did it. I was a nurse who worked nights when my son was little, and I wouldn’t have had time to write a book. What an amazing mom!

Nurse Mommy not only explains what a nurse does in simple terms, but it rhymes. The illustrations are bright and colorful and will definitely keep the attention of young children. This is a great book for all children, not just children of nurses.

About the Author

Kristyn Boland lives in Charlotte, North Carolina, with her husband, Tim, her son, Owen, and their dog, Bo. She graduated from East Carolina University College of Nursing in 2014. Kristyn started her career working in Pediatric Intensive Care and later moved to Postpartum Care, where she takes care of moms and their new babies in the hospital. When she returned to work after having her son, she wanted to find a book for her husband to read to her son at bedtime explaining where she was and why she went to work at night. When she couldn’t find one, she decided to write it herself!

connect with the author: website instagram


Enter to win a signed copy of Kristyn Boland’s NURSE MOMMY! (one winner/USA only)


Follow the Tour

June 14 – Cover Lover Book Review – book review / giveaway
June 14 – Gina Rae Mitchell – book review / author interview / giveaway
June 14 – Rockin’ Book Reviews – book review / guest post / giveaway
June 15 – I Read Kid’s Books – book review / guest post / giveaway
June 15 – A Mama’s Corner of the World – book review / giveaway
June 16 – Bound 4 Escape – book review / giveaway
June 17 – Jazzy Book Reviews – book review / giveaway
June 17 – Writer with Wanderlust – book review / guest post / giveaway
June 21 – Lisa’s Reading – book spotlight / giveaway
June 22 – @booking.with.janelle – book review
June 23 – Locks, Hooks and Books – book review / giveaway
June 24 – Cheryl’s Book Nook – book review / giveaway
June 24 – The Adventures of a Travelers Wife – book review / author interview / giveaway
June 25 – Westveil Publishing – book review / guest post / giveaway
June 28 – Reading is My Passion – book review
June 29 – Pick a Good Book – book review / author interview / giveaway
June 29 – @twilight_reader – book review
June 30 – Kam’s Place – book review
June 30 – Laura’s Interests – book review / guest post / giveaway
July 1 – Splashes of Joy – book review / author interview / giveaway
July 1 – The Phantom Paragrapher – book review
July 2 – Literary Flits – book spotlight / giveaway