Blog Tour Book Review: The Reckless Engineer by Jac Wright

6 Nov

securedownloadTitle: The Reckless Engineer

Author: Jac Wright

Genre: Mystery

Publication Date: November 6, 2013

Description:

The aftershocks of an affair reverberate out to those in the lives of the lovers, who will not take it lying down. Jack Connors lives an idyllic life by the Portsmouth seaside married to Caitlin McAllen, a stunning billionaire heiress, and working at his two jobs as the Head of Radar Engineering of Marine Electronics and as the Director of Engineering of McAllen BlackGold, his powerful father-in-law’s extreme engineering company in oil & gas. He loves his two sons from his first marriage and is amicably divorced from his beautiful first wife, Marianne Connor.

Their delicately balanced lives are shattered when the sexy and alluring Michelle Williams, who Jack is having a secret affair with and who is pregnant with his child, is found dead and Jack is arrested on suspicion for the murder. Jeremy Stone brings in London’s top defence attorney, Harry Stavers, to handle his best friend’s defence.

Who is the bald man with the tattoo of a skull seen entering the victim’s house? Who is the “KC” that Caitlin makes secret calls to from a disposable mobile? Has the powerful Douglas McAllen already killed his daughter’s first partner, and is he capable of killing again? Is Caitlin’s brother’s power struggle with Jack for the control of McAllen Industries so intense that he is prepared to kill and frame him? Is the divorce from his first wife as amicable on her part as they believe it to be? Are his sons prepared to kill for their vast inheritance? Who are the ghosts from Caitlin’s past? What is the involvement of Jack’s manager at Marine Electronics?

Review:

I received a free copy of this book for an honest review.

The Reckless Engineer is a good whodunit with a colorful cast of characters. Jac Wright has done a good job of bringing the characters to life and making them all realistically flawed. There were many characters and many suspects, all described in detail. My favorite character was the McAllen family lawyer, Magnus Laird. Right in the middle of this murder drama was this strange man who had to make me laugh.

I really liked the character and story development. I quit trying to figure out who the murderer was and just let the story flow. I did question, however, why Jeremy, an engineer, was able to figure things out before the police or Harry, his lawyer friend.

This is one of the best murder mysteries I’ve read in a while. I definitely recommend The Reckless Engineer.

Available on Amazon.

About the Author:

 Jac Wright is a published poet, published author, and an electronics engineer educated at Stanford, University College London, and Cambridge who lives and works in England.  Jac studied English literature from the early age of three, developing an intense love for poetry, drama, and writing in Trinity College Speech & Drama classes taken every Saturday for fourteen years, and in subsequent creative writing classes taken during the university years.  A published poet, Jac’s first passion was for literary fiction and poetry writing as well as for the dramatic arts.  You will find these influences in the poetic imagery and prose, the dramatic scene setting, and the deep character creation.

 These passions – for poetry, drama, literary fiction, and electronic engineering – have all been lovingly combined to create the first book in the literary suspense series, The Reckless Engineer.  There are millions of professionals in high tech corporate environments who work in thousands of cities in the US, the UK, and the world such as engineers, technicians, technical managers, investment bankers, and corporate lawyers.  High drama, power struggles, and human interest stories play out in the arena every day.  Yet there are hardly any books that tell their stories; there are not many books that they can identify with.  Jac feels compelled to tell their stories in The Reckless Engineer series.

 Jac also writes the literary short fiction series, Summerset Tales, in which he explores characters struggling against their passions and social circumstances in the semi-fictional region of contemporary England called Summerset, partly the region that Thomas Hardy called Wessex.  Some of the tales have an added element of suspense similar to Roald Dahl’s Tales of the Unexpected.  The collection is published as individual tales in the tradition of Charles Dickens’ The Pickwick Papers and Thomas Hardy’s Wessex Tales.  The first tale, The Closet, accompanies the author’s first full-length literary suspense title, The Reckless Engineer.

Jac’s websitehttp://jacwrightbooks.wix.com/jacwright

 

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: