Book Review: Jericho by Alex Gordon

4 Jun

Jericho Book Banner

 

Jericho_PBTitle: Jericho

Author: Alex Gordon

Publisher: Harper Voyager

Genre: Supernatural

Format: Ecopy/Paperback

 

For readers of Deborah Harkness, J.D. Horn, Lev Grossman, and any supernatural thriller, a young witch must risk death and damnation to defeat a powerful ancient evil in Alex Gordon’s follow-up to the masterful debut Gideon.

In unearthing her father’s secret past, Lauren Reardon discovered a shocking truth about herself. She is a Child of Endor, a sect of witches who believe they are the guardians of the “thin places”—areas across the globe where evil can seep through the divide between the worlds separating the living and the restless dead. At any time, she can be called upon to close one of these breaches and prevent demons from infiltrating our realm. When Lauren has a disturbing vision of an Oregon forest, she is drawn back to the familiar woods of the misty Pacific Northwest to investigate.

Locals had long whispered about an abandoned logging camp known as Jericho—of the strange disappearances and eerie sounds heard in the woods deep in the night. But these ghost stories only hint at the true evil lurking within the camp’s dilapidated buildings, a primeval malevolence far more terrifying than Lauren’s darkest imaginings. And now, Lauren must face this evil, even if it takes her life . . . even if it costs her soul.

 

My Review

I received a free copy of this book for an honest review.

Lauren Reardon saved the town of Gideon seven months ago and is now the Mistress of Gideon. She knows that she has been chosen to help save other towns that are guarding our realm, so when she ends up crossing into the woods of the Pacific Northwest she knows that she has to go there.

Lauren ends up at the home of a wealthy businessman who just happens to live on the mountain that Lauren needs to go to. She knows it’s not a coincidence that she was invited but the other witches there treat her as an outsider and don’t want her there. Eventually, after several incidents, they’re not threatened by her and are happy that she’s there to help.

The characters are complex and full of surprises. Lauren is a strong woman who speaks her mind and is always willing to do what needs to be done. She still has a lot to learn about what she is capable of as far as witchcraft.

Jericho is full of twists, suspense, witchcraft, horror, and mystery. I love Alex Gordon’s writing style. Jericho stands on its own but I’d recommend reading Gideon first.

 

Available on Amazon.

 

Meet the Author

Alex Gordon resides in the Midwest. When she isn’t working, she enjoys watching sports and old movies, running, and playing with her dogs. She dreams of someday adding the Pacific Northwest to the list of regions where she has lived.

 

 

Tour Schedule

Monday, May 23 – Book featured at Harmonious Publicity

Tuesday, May 24 – Book featured at Voodoo Princess

Wednesday, May 25 – Book featured at Literal Exposure

Thursday, May 26 – Book featured at The Review From Here

Friday, May 27 – Book featured at My Bookish Pleasures

________

Monday, May 30 – Book featured at Write and Take Flight

Tuesday, May 31 – Book reviewed at Book Babble

Wednesday, June 1 – Book reviewed at Ocean Storm

Thursday, June 2 – Book reviewed at Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers

Friday, June 3 – Guest post at I Love Smart Books

________

Monday, June 6 – Book reviewed at Books for Books

Tuesday, June 7 – Book reviewed at Bound 4 Escape

Book featured at The Bookworm Lodge

Wednesday, June 8 – Book featured at CBY Book Club

Book reviewed at Deal Sharing Aunt

Book reviewed at Fundinmental

Thursday, June 9 – Book featured at Stormy Vixen’s Book Reviews

Book reviewed at The Recipe Fairy

Friday, June 10 – Book reviewed at Live Love Books Blog

Book reviewed at Cover2Cover

Book reviewed at I’m Shelf-ish

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: