New Releases

Fantastic Happy Tales

This is a charming new collection of children’s stories that are educational and entertaining, with fun illustrations. The animals in this series of short stories – from Freddie Fox to Tommy Toad – play a key role in teaching children about their environment and other important life lessons.

Excerpt from the book:

“The hive was busy.  Spring flowers in full bloom and it was time to find the best of the bunch.  “‘Bee’ back before nightfall,” Beatrice called out to her entourage of eager pollen collectors.

“Will do,” they buzzed, hoping to find the best pollen for themselves.

It was midday in the garden of Terry Tortoise and Massie the field mouse, when the sound of buzzing caught their ears.  “Careful,” Massie whispered, not wishing to interrupt their buzz-ness. “They are making honey,” she explained to Terry her latest friend and pupil.

“I see no honey,” he answered, having previously peaked into a hive, “It’s sticky and runny.”

“It’s a long story. I will have to explain later, I have much to do,” she added taking his hand.

About the Author

L. J. Greatrex was born one of three siblings in a small village, having only moved around the same village three times with just a small break when living in West Kirby on the Wirral. Her career began with General Electric and progressed through to the financial sector of the steel industry, spending the most recent years with a classic car parts company.

Over many years travelling the globe with family and friends, the ideas developed and are used in the Hackers Trilogy of novels which includes Conscious Revenge, Payback and Just Deserts. This series has grown, with a further six hacker books, adding Without a Doubt, Doubt Revisited, Informed Decision, Dark Forces, Misconception and Last Resort, which completes the series.  L. J. Greatrex has also written A Penny’s Eye View which is a collection of inter-related short stories.

“Fantastic Happy Tales” by L. J. Greatrex is available from Amazon at:

and in e-book format from Amazon at:

The audiobook version of “Fantastic Happy Tales” will be released soon.

Press/Media Contact Details:

Darin Jewell (L. J. Greatrex’s literary agent)
Managing Director
The Inspira Group Literary Agency
tel. UK +208 292 5163


Enemies United

William of Normandy set sail to arrive in England in October 1066 to take the throne and force his right above the Saxon King Harold. Successful in the battle and taking the crown his army of well-trained knights were rewarded with lands.

Mostly of lands that no longer had a Thegn, this is a story of how an elderly ailing Thegn where his lands were gifted to one of William’s most loyal knights Gilbert Bayeux, the struggle and lengths afterwards to protect his grandchild and how the two enemies united to bring peace to Alder-Sea and its villagers along with all of England. The child was disguised as a serf, the knight was intrigued and drawn to the boy’s beautiful lavender blue eyes.


  “This way, we will have carried out your grandfather’s wishes. You heard your Lord Gilbert. He intends to place you in some kind of work after they bury George,’ he said sternly, hoping that Guy would understand why he was insisting on the time being now. Godfrey knew if he left it until after the burial that Gilbert would place Guy in some sort of meaningful employment and that he would soon find out their secret, and had he not knelt along with George and Guy and sworn allegiance at Gilbert’s feet? No, he would sooner spirit Guy away than be looked on as a traitor. Godfrey was sure that his new master was a good man. He was torn by his pledge to George and although he liked and respected Gilbert, his loyalty was stronger to George.

The soldiers arrived and carried George to the chapel. Guy and Godfrey followed them to watch that George was laid in state in a caring manner, Guy being careful to whisper, ‘Sleep well, master.’ Godfrey stood and saluted him with his sword. One of the soldiers reported to Gilbert that there had been a suspicion of tears in Godfrey’s eyes as he left the chapel and that the boy Guy was struggling with the Lord George’s death. Strange for a boy so young.”

About the Author

Barbara Anne Machin was born in 1940 and is the youngest of eight children. She is married and has one son, and recently celebrated her diamond wedding anniversary. She has always been interested in writing but has never attempted to publish before. A friend and her husband encouraged Barbara to send her trilogy of stories to a publisher. She writes more for a hobby and has worked all her life and still works part-time.  She has held many managerial positions in large companies and does not like to be idle.

This is Barbara’s sixth book.  She has written “A Beloved Cousin” (2019), “Shadow of Guilt” (2020), “Don’t Look Back” (2020), “The Crime that Never Was” (2020) and “Nowhere to Hide” (2020).

“Enemies United” is available to purchase in hardback from Amazon UK at:

This novel is also available to purchase in paperback at:

The book can also be downloaded as an e-book from:

Press/Media Contact Details:

Darin Jewell (Barbara Machin’s literary agent)
Tel. 020 8292 5163

2 thoughts on “New Releases

    • sleepygirl2 April 10, 2021 / 10:36 am

      I thought the children’s book looked cute. I’ve actually read the other one, and though I don’t usually read historical romance, I liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.