Book Review: A Knot of Sparrows by Cheryl Rees-Price

Welsh detective Winter Meadows takes on a new murder case

There were a lot of things you could call Stacey Evans. And many of them would be true. And unprintable. But did she deserve to be murdered?

DI Winter Meadows has no doubt of the answer when he takes on the case. The crime was violent. The victim helpless. But the motives are many, and the only clue is a strange word left on Stacey’s body.

DI Meadows struggles to pierce the secrecy surrounding the teenager’s busy love life. Was the killer one of her pursuers acting out of jealousy? Maybe someone’s wife seeking revenge?

But as each suspect is excluded from the enquiry, and other markings turn up, Meadows is convinced that something more sinister is afoot.

When another body is found, a veil of silence descends like a fog upon Gaer Fawr. What more will it take for the village to give up its secrets?

A KNOT OF SPARROWS is the fourth standalone title in a series of murder mysteries by best-selling author Cheryl Rees-Price. It will appeal to fans of David Pearson, L J Ross, John Dean, Joy Ellis, and Pippa McCathie.

The full list of books is as follows:

1. THE SILENT QUARRY

2. FROZEN MINDS

3. SUFFER THE CHILDREN

4. A KNOT OF SPARROWS

Cheryl Rees-Price is also the author of the standalone thriller BLUE HOLLOW.

All of these books are FREE with Kindle Unlimited and available in paperback from Amazon.

Purchase Links

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B08XQS6219/

US –  https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08XQS6219/

My Review

I chose to read this book after receiving a free e-copy. All opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased.

This is the first book I’ve read by this author, and it is the fourth in the series, but it pretty much stands on its own. It starts out with a murder but the bodies quickly pile up. DI Meadows tries to figure out if they’re connected. Since there are several suspects who could have wanted at least two of the victims dead, all having alibis, Meadows has his work cut out for him.

There wasn’t a lot of character development but this may be because this is the fourth book in the series. I would have liked to have known more about the personal lives of the team earlier in the book. DI Meadows has things in control and his team gets along well. Even Blackwell who seems to be angry a lot of the time, is liked by the others.

There were several twists and several murders. I was sure about who the killer was early on but it was still a good read because I needed to put all the pieces together. If you like police procedurals, this would be a good one to check out.

About the Author

Cheryl Rees-Price was born in Cardiff and moved as a young child to a small ex-mining village on the edge of the Black Mountain range, South Wales, where she still lives with her husband, daughters and cats. After leaving school she worked as a legal clerk for several years before leaving to raise her two daughters.
Cheryl returned to education, studying philosophy, sociology, and accountancy whilst working as a part time book keeper. She now works as a finance director for a company that delivers project management and accounting services.
In her spare time Cheryl indulges in her passion for writing, the success of writing plays for local performances gave her the confidence to write her first novel. Her other hobbies include walking and gardening which free her mind to develop plots and create colourful characters.

Social Media Links –

The Book Folks | Facebook

Cheryl Rees-Price | Facebook