Famous Failures


Book Review: Pain-Free with CBD by Alice O'Leary & Eloise Theisen

CBD is the path to healing―without a high

Many of us have become accustomed to quick-fix prescriptions for pain relief that mask symptoms, but there’s a safer, more natural solution: cannabidiol (CBD). Pain-Free with CBD gives you a look into the therapeutic benefits of CBD, including how it can decrease inflammation and provide relief for your painful condition―without the side effects.

Pain-Free with CBD offers guidance on choosing the best product, safely dosing, and finding the best method of consumption for you. Manage a variety of ailments including arthritis, fibromyalgia, lupus―and even the health of your furry friends. Discover the history of this natural medicine and success stories of others who have regained their quality of life with the help of CBD.

Pain-Free with CBD includes:

  • Nature’s medicine―Explore an overview of your body’s endocannabinoid system (ECS) and how CBD works to heal the body.
  • Quality choice―Learn how to select high-quality products using suggestions on top CBD brands, safety tips, and helpful how-tos for each delivery method.
  • Dosing guidance―Determine the right dosage for your needs and learn about possible interactions between CBD and commonly prescribed medications.

Discover how CBD can be the healing solution to your pain―one drop at a time.


My Review

I chose to read this book after receiving a free copy from Callisto Publishers. All opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased.

If you’re thinking about trying CBD, this is a reference that would be extremely useful. It explains what CBD is, what diseases it has been used for, the different ways it is delivered into the body, and factors that are important to consider when choosing a dose.

The best thing in Pain-Free with CBD is a list of trustworthy places to purchase CBD online. Since it’s not regulated, it’s hard to know if you’re getting what you paid for. You learn what to look for on labeling, but having the list of companies is also very helpful.

Pain-Free with CBD is definitely a book that I recommend for anyone wanting to try CBD.

About the Authors

About Alice O’Leary-Randall

Once called “the first lady of medical marijuana,” Alice O’Leary Randall is a senior spokesperson for the medical cannabis movement, co-founded in 1976 with her late husband, Robert C. Randall, the first person in the U.S. to legally receive medical cannabis. For more than two decades Robert and Alice worked tirelessly to reform the prohibitions against cannabis. After Robert’s untimely death in 2001, Alice became a hospice nurse and later a grief counselor. She retired in 2012 and re-entered the medical cannabis field. She frequently writes and speaks on the issue. Working with Mary’s Medicinals of Denver she developed the Cannabis Primer series in 2015 and Mary’s Prime Time blog in 2017 (www.maryspubs.com). She has served on the Board of Directors for American Cannabis Nurses Association and the advisory board for United in Compassion, an Australian medical cannabis organization. Her book, Medical Marijuana in America: Memoir of a Pioneer was first released in April 2014. Her most recent publication Pain-Free with CBD. Both titles are available on Amazon.com.

About Eloise Theisen

Eloise is a board-certified adult geriatric nurse practitioner, president of the American Cannabis Nurses Association and co-founder of Radicle Health.

Book Review: A Christmas to Purr About by Patricia Fry

The Ivey family and friends agree to serve the hungry during the holidays, but not without serious consequences that require a little feline and equine intervention. Detective Craig goes missing, Rags is accused of grand theft and malicious mischief, Savannah is harassed and nearly arrested, Michael has a surprise reunion to beat all reunions, and Peaches facilitates a Christmas miracle. If you were touched by A Picture-Purrfect Christmas, you’re going to adore this story of struggle, strife, and fear overcome in the most unusual and loving fashion


My Review

I chose to read this book after receiving a free e-copy from the author. All opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased.

This is the second Klepto Cat Mystery I’ve read. I recently read A Picture-Purrfect Christmas, and I plan on reading one more Christmas story about the Iveys, A Very Meowy Christmas, before December 25th. Each of these books stand on their own, but the more of them I read, the more I get to know the characters.

There’s a lot going on in A Christmas to Purr About! Detective Craig goes missing, and just when Savannah needs him the most. No matter where she turns, she’s being accused by crazy women for doing things she didn’t do. She’s being sued and harassed all while trying to get ready for Christmas. Oh, and she’s pregnant!

Although Savannah has a lot on her plate, she has family, friends, and pets to comfort her; although, I’m not sure how much comfort her cat Rags is. He’s always getting into mischief, but I think that’s because he’s so smart!

I enjoyed this Christmas story, which has a nice surprise at the end, and I look forward to reading the next one. I’m curious what mischief Rags can get into next time.

About the Author

Patricia has been writing for publication for over 40 years, having been fortunate enough to establish a career doing what she loves. Hundreds–maybe thousands–of her articles have appeared in over 500 different publications and she has published books on a variety of topics–grandparenting, local history, youth mentoring, journaling and many aspects of publishing and book promotion. After years of writing nonfiction, in 2012, she decided to branch out and try writing fiction and the Klepto Cat Mysteries were created.
The Klepto Cat Mysteries feature Rags, an ordinary cat with a most extraordinary habit–he’s a kleptomaniac. Currently, Patricia is producing anywhere from three to five books per year in both ebook format and in print. Read the Klepto Cat Mysteries and you’ll laugh, you’ll sit on the edge of your chair in suspense, and you’ll smile at the good-feeling you’re left with when you finish each book in the series. 

Website: http://www.KleptoCatMysteries.com