Book Review: One More Kill by Carolyn Arnold

He marks them for death. Then he hunts them like prey.

He told her to run. And she did. As fast as her legs would take her, but it wasn’t fast enough…

The bodies of a husband and wife are found in a patch of woods in small-town, rural Arkansas by a neighboring farmer. They were shot with an arrow, gutted, and left to bleed out. The killer also removed their eyes and replaced them with large cat’s-eye marbles. The murder method and signature are too bizarre to point toward an isolated incident, and FBI Special Agent Brandon Fisher recognizes this right away. His boss with the Behavioral Analysis Unit, Supervisory Special Agent Jack Harper, confirms that he’s crossed paths with this killer several years ago, and he has a voracious appetite for blood. In fact, Jack’s seen his work firsthand—six times, three couples, in three states.

Brandon, Jack, and the rest of the team head to Arkansas for one purpose: to bring down the ruthless and elusive serial killer who calls himself “the Leopard.” Versatile and adaptive, this madman hunts his prey like a wild, hungry cat—tracking them, then striking with swift viciousness. But just as the FBI think they might finally be getting closer to the Leopard’s true identity, he adapts his method and starts killing people faster than ever before.

Racing to catch up, and struggling to get one step ahead, the FBI comes to uncover buried family secrets that aid the investigation—while at the same time, flipping it on its head. Suddenly, the hunters are now the hunted. And while this case has haunted Jack since he joined the Bureau, things are about get more personal and dangerous than he ever would have imagined. If he and his team aren’t careful, one of them—or someone they love—may become the Leopard’s next victim.

A totally gripping and heart-pounding crime thriller. Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Robert Dugoni and Catherine Coulter.

e-book
Amazon.com | Apple | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Google Play | Amazon Universal

Audiobook
Amazon | Audible | Apple | Google Play | Lebro.fm | BingeBooks

My Review

I chose to read this book after receiving a free e-copy from the author. All opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased. I have read several of Carolyn Arnold’s books, and I’ve enjoyed every one of them, so I was happy to read another one.

Brandon Fisher works for the BAU with the FBI. When they are called to investigate murders by an unsub who they thought had stopped killing 15 years ago, Brandon’s boss, Jack, is thrown for a loop. The Leopard, as the killer calls himself, was Jack’s first case and had never been solved. It’s not usual for Jack to be emotional about cases, but this one is different.

Even though the team Brandon works on is does a great job at solving cases, they each have their own problems, and Carolyn Arnold does a good job at developing each character. She makes them seem real, just like you or me (probably with better solving skills though).

This book starts with a horrific murder of a couple. Not only were they gutted, but their eyeballs were removed and replaced with cat’s eye marbles. I still cringe when I think of those dead marble-filled eyes.

I like Carolyn Arnold’s writing whether it’s a cozy mystery or an FBI thriller or something in between. Her writing flows well and her characters are realistic. If you like murder mysteries, serial killers, and/or the TV shows like Criminal Minds, you will like the Brandon Fisher series.

About the Author

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has several continuing fiction series and has many published books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures. Her crime fiction series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining. This led to her adopting the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives near London, Ontario, Canada with her husband and two beagles.

Find the author on the following sites…
Website  Facebook  Twitter  Google+  Pinterest  Goodreads  Amazon Author Page

Book Review: Blue Baby by Carolyn Arnold

Author: Carolyn Arnold
Series: Brandon Fisher FBI Series, Book 4
Genres: Hard-Boiled, Mystery, Police Procedural, Thriller
Publisher: Hibbert & Stiles Publishing Inc.
Year: 2015
Length: 270 pages

FBI Agent Brandon Fisher and his team with the Behavioral Analysis Unit are off to Grand Forks, North Dakota, when the body of a woman is found in her bathtub, dressed in a wedding gown with her ring finger severed.

It’s the first day of summer, and an exact year ago, another woman was discovered the same way. Her case went cold, but with the recent murder, the FBI believes they’re looking for a serial killer, so they reopen the case. Finding a connection between the women is proving elusive, and with a killer who starts to spiral out of control, that’s only making the trail more difficult to follow. And failure is not an option. If Brandon and his team don’t catch up to the killer, the bloodbath will continue to overflow.

Blue Baby is a creepy psychological thriller that will have readers turning the pages to unravel every twist. It will also have readers looking differently at how they define their own happiness. Buy this international bestselling book today and hunt a serial killer alongside the FBI!

 

 

My Review

I chose to read this book after receiving a free e-copy from the author. All opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased.

I’ve read quite a few of Carolyn Arnold’s books including On the Count of Three, the latest in the Brandon Fisher series. I like Carolyn Arnold’s characters and Brandon Fisher is one of my favorites. I’ve been hoping to find the time to read the rest of the books in her series in order but since I received this one for free, I went ahead and read it. The more I read, the more I get to know the characters. Each book is a standalone, but I like to read a series in order when I can.

Brandon Fisher works for the BAU with the FBI and this is a tough case. Some of the team members are having personal issues as well. This serial killer wants to help women find “happiness” and he has decided that the way to happiness for some women is to murder them to release them from their sadness in this world. Will they be able to track him down before he kills again?

The team has a lot of clues to follow, especially since one of the murders was a year ago. They meet up often to keep each other up-to-date and to theorize about the killer as well as what circumstances may have occurred to make him/her a serial killer. There are a few suspects, a lot of twists, and a good ending.

I like Carolyn Arnold’s writing whether it’s a cozy mystery or a grizzly FBI thriller or something in between. Her writing flows well and her characters are realistic. If you like murder mysteries and/or if you like the TV show Criminal Minds, you should like the Brandon Fisher series.

 

 

About the Author

CAROLYN ARNOLD is an international bestselling and award-winning author, as well as a speaker, teacher, and inspirational mentor. She has four continuing fiction series—Detective Madison Knight, Brandon Fisher FBI, McKinley Mysteries, and Matthew Connor Adventures—and has written nearly thirty books. Her genre diversity offers her readers everything from cozy to hard-boiled mysteries, and thrillers to action adventures.

Both her female detective and FBI profiler series have been praised by those in law enforcement as being accurate and entertaining, leading her to adopt the trademark: POLICE PROCEDURALS RESPECTED BY LAW ENFORCEMENT™.

Carolyn was born in a small town and enjoys spending time outdoors, but she also loves the lights of a big city. Grounded by her roots and lifted by her dreams, her overactive imagination insists that she tell her stories. Her intention is to touch the hearts of millions with her books, to entertain, inspire, and empower.

She currently lives in London Ontario with her husband and beagle and is a member of Crime Writers of Canada and Sisters in Crime.

Connect with CAROLYN ARNOLD Online:

Website – http://carolynarnold.net/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/Carolyn_Arnold

Facebook –https://www.facebook.com/AuthorCarolynArnold

And don’t forget to sign up for her newsletter for up-to-date information on release and special offers at http://carolynarnold.net/newsletters.

Book Review: I Can Kill by Angela Kay

I Can Kill
by Angela Kay
Genre: Crime Mystery, Thriller
 x
x
I Can Kill, and You Can’t Catch Me…
x
These were the last words The Carnations Killer said to FBI Special Agent
Aidan O’Reilly ten years ago before he went into hiding. He has
tortured and murdered fifty women since then and managed to elude
capture. Now, he’s returned once again, and his new hunting ground is
Augusta, GA.
x
O’Reilly teams up with Shaun Henderson, the special agent in charge of the
Augusta Resident Agency, to bring this ruthless killer to justice
once and for all. But as each second ticks by, tensions rise and
O’Reilly finds himself in a race against time before the killer slips
away again.
x
x
Testimonial featured on the back of the book:
A gripping new thriller by Angela Kay that pits FBI Special Agent Aidan
O’Reilly against the Carnations Killer, a serial killer who enjoys
playing Cat and Mouse with this formidable agent.”
— Dana Ridenour, retired FBI Agent and award winning author of
Behind The Mask and Beyond The Cabin
**On sale for .99 cents 4/25 – 4/29!!**
 x
x
x
x

 

x

I chose to read this book after receiving a free e-copy. All opinions in this review are my own and completely unbiased.

 This is the third novel I’ve read by Angela Kay. I really liked her first two novels but I Can Kill is my favorite so far. Aidan O’Reilly is an FBI agent who has been tracking a serial killer, The Carnations Killer, for 10 years. The killer shows up for a few months, killing blondes and taunting Aidan, and then disappears until he shows up somewhere else for a few months. He even asks for Aidan by name because he thinks Aidan is a competent opponent.

The characters are well developed. I could feel Aidan’s mounting tension as he tries to find The Carnations Killer before there’s another murder. I like that his girlfriend supports him and once he confides in her, she has faith in him.

I Can Kill is full of suspense and twists. The reader gets to get a glimpse into the mind of the serial killer while not knowing his identity, which I didn’t figure out. This is a real page turner and I definitely recommend it. I can’t wait for her next novel!

 x

Equipped with a professional writing degree from Augusta State University,
Angela Kay is a southern lady who spends her days and nights dreaming
up new ways to solve dark murders of normal people.
 x
Angela Kay was one of 23 across the United States to win a 2009 playwright
contest for her one-act entitled “Digging Deeper.” Because of
this, she was able to spend a week in Atlanta at the Horizon Theater
Company.

 x
She lives in Augusta, Georgia with her crazy calico, Maggie.
 x
x
x
x
x
x
x